Party masks

Three ladies in christmas party masks

This postcard sized print came from a found photo album I spotted last month at a weekly market.  I was after the walking pictures, but when the dealer offered me the whole album for £2 I couldn’t get my change out fast enough!
Sadly there is little to identify the album’s owner, who I think was the lady on the right. She clearly holidayed a lot in Skegness, and I assume lived somewhere in the Derbyshire area.
Anyway, the three of them seem to be having fun at a Christmas dinner, and I suspect the photograph was done by a professional who covered the event and then let everyone order prints. It’s on that awful lustre textured paper which was popular back in the late Fifties; it is a real pain to try and scan, but a bit of tweaking has helped. I couldn’t resist trying a version with the cracker masks coloured in!

Three ladies in christmas party masks coloured in

Leave a Reply

